And the Oscar goes to..

*Image via The Toronto Sun

It’s finally here! Award season winds down today as the 83rd Academy Awards unfold tonight. I’ve been watching the Oscars since I was a child, when I used to beg to stay up past my bedtime on a Sunday night to see the biggest award of the night be given out. I love film and happen to be pretty good at predicting the outcome (why am I not in an Oscar pool?). Tomorrow I’ll provide a round-up of who won, how the hosts did, any surprises and of course who wore what. I personally am really excited to see James Franco and Anne Hathaway host tonight. The previews of them are adorable.

Here’s a refresher of who is up for the golden statuette tonight in some major categories!

 

BEST PICTURE

Black Swan

The Fighter

Inception

The Kids Are All Right

The King’s Speech

127 Hours

The Social Network

Toy Story 3

True Grit

Winter’s Bone

 

There are a lot of great picks on this list, and it seems to be a close run of The King’s Speech vs The Social Network, and I’m also feel a potenial Black Swan win as it won at the Independent Spirit Awards last night, but overall I’m going to say The King’s Speech.

 

Best Actor

Javier Bardem, “Biutiful”

Jeff Bridges, “True Grit”

Jesse Eisenberg, “The Social Network”

Colin Firth, “The King’s Speech”

James Franco, “127 Hours”

 

Will James Franco take an award home in addition to being a host? He did pick up an Independent Spirit Award last night. Frankly I’m still miffed Ryan Gosling wasn’t nominated for Blue Valentine, but I think Colin Firth will most likely take this one.

 

Best Actress

Annette Bening, “The Kids Are All Right”

Nicole Kidman, “Rabbit Hole”

Jennifer Lawrence, “Winter’s Bone”

Natalie Portman, “Black Swan”

Michelle Williams, “Blue Valentine”

 

Let’s be real, just hand her the statue already.

 

Best Director

Darren Aronofsky, “Black Swan”

David O. Russell, “The Fighter”

Tom Hooper, “The King’s Speech”

David Fincher, “The Social Network”

Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, “True Grit”

 

Once again, I would have liked to see Christopher Nolan nominated for Inception, but I think in the race between Aronofsky and Fincher, Black Swan is going to prevail.

 

Best Supporting Actor

Christian Bale, “The Fighter”

John Hawkes, “Winter’s Bone”

Jeremy Renner, “The Town”

Mark Ruffalo, “The Kids Are All Right”

Geoffrey Rush, “The King’s Speech”

 

I think Christian Bale is going to win it tonight, and I want him to if not to see what he’ll say in his acceptance speech alone.

 

Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams, “The Fighter”

Helena Bonham Carter, “The King’s Speech”

Melissa Leo, “The Fighter”

Hailee Steinfeld, “True Grit”

Jacki Weaver, “Animal Kingdom”

 

Melissa Leo was a lock for this one for most of awards season but her recent self-promoting “Consider” ads might have soured her chances. This one could definitely be a shocker category with so many strong performances. Will the 14 -year-old or Helena Bonham Carter steal Leo’s award streak? I’m conflicted.  I’ll say Leo will win, but I think it’s anyone’s game!

 

Let’s hope Incendies wins Best Foreign Film for Canada!

 

Who do you think will win? Enjoy your Oscar viewing, and I’ll most likely being tweeting about the show 😉

L.

Leave a Reply

