It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas…

Well hello there:

So the blog’s been on hiatus, but it’s Christmas time in Toronto and I’m back! Too much to see and to do not blog about it and I had to finally get my words in order.  I was out of commission this fall due to health issues/surgery, so frankly blogging was not a priority. Then I found myself wanting to organize my thoughts and recap the past several months (TIFF, seeing Mumford and Sons live to name a few), but I never could seem to sit down and get it all together. So instead of going over the happenings of the fall, let’s move forward. And what’s happening right now? CHRISTMAS!

Yes, I am one of those people obsessed with Christmas. I was counting down the days till Halloween was over so I could listen to Christmas music without shame. I could apologize for my incessant holly jolly-ness…or not. Some people have hockey obsessions and other winter sports to get them through our harsh Canadian winters, I have Christmas.

This past weekend truly kicked off the holiday season with the 107th Annual Toronto Santa Claus Parade. This was my second year attending and this year’s warm weather made it much more enjoyable. Hundreds of thousands of people came out to catch a glimpse of Ol’ St. Nick (and for the first time Mrs. Claus!) and overflowed the streets. The parade is not for the faint of heart-or the claustrophobic. There are people EVERYWHERE. If you took the TTC at all yesterday, you know what I mean. If you can deal with being cozy with a stranger and get yourself a view of the sights, then the holiday spirit will make you feel like a kid again. My personal favourite was the Muppet’s float. FYI I am so excited to see the Muppet’s upcoming movie, featuring my future husband Jason Segel.

Anyways, if you are into holiday festivities and the weather is nice, the parade can be fun event. However, if you hate crowds and it’s chilly out, I suggest catching the event in the comfort of your own home!

There are a lot of fun festive events I am looking forward to checking out this holiday season in the big city. The Toronto Christmas Market sounds like the most magical thing on earth and I am still mad at myself for not getting around to seeing it last year! I also hope to hit up the One Of A Kind Christmas Show and Sale for some gift ideas. I even want to brave the masses at the Eaton’s Centre to see the Swarovski Crystal Wish Tree.

This is my favourite time of year and I live for the music, events, food and tv specials/movies. Are you as excited for Christmas as I am? What events are you checking out in the city?

XO,

L.

Leave a Reply

