Current Obsession: The Hunger Games

Whoops. So I’ve been busy with other things and the good ol’ blog has been neglected.

Well I’m back to and I’ve been obsessed The Hunger Games. This one lives up to the hype, I swear! I had heard good things about the series for awhile, but wasn’t sure what it was all about. After seeing the trailer for the upcoming movie, I was intrigued. I picked up a copy at Christmas and was hooked. Luckily, while early into the first book I picked up the second one as well. The series is so addictive you won’t want to wait between books!

The series takes place in the future, where districts are punished for past rebellion by having the Hunger Games take place each year. The Games involve two youth from each District to fight to the death on live television. When the protagonist Katniss Everdeen’s younger sister is chosen as a Tribute for District 12, she volunteers to take her place. The books are of the YA genre, and are certainly a quick read, but trust me this is no Twilight. The series is dark and complex, and the lead character is strong. Survival, family and political revolution are themes that take center stage in Suzanne Collin’s series.

The countdown is on for the March 23rd release of the movie. I highly suggest you get your hands on a copy of the first book before then!

I’ve written about the fashion and beauty elements of the movie on FASHIONOTES.com.

The T Bone Burnett produced soundtrack is also set to be awesome, with songs from Taylor Swift, The Civil Wars, Arcade Fire, Glen Hansard and more set to appear. I adore the Taylor Swift/The Civil Wars duet-a perfect combination in my opinion. Check out the movie trailer and music video for the collaboration below!

May the odds be ever in your favour 😉

L  xoxo.

Leave a Reply

