Time Flies

When you’re stressed or frustrated with things in your life, taking a step back to take inventory of all of things you should be grateful for helps to refocus your thoughts into a more positive state of mind. Even showing gratitude for the most trivial of enjoyable moments can put things into perspective.

Since I like lists so much, here’s what I’m liking and looking forward to right now….

At the moment…

Reading : The Marriage Plot

I waited patiently for this book from the library and I’m finally getting a chance to read it. Written by acclaimed author of The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex Jeffrey Eugenides, I’m sure it’ll be worth the wait.

Watching:  C.R.A.Z.Y.

I remember hearing a ton of buzz about this film back in 2005 when it was Canada’s offering for Best Foreign Film at the Oscars. C.R.A.Z.Y. follows Zac Beaulieu as he grows up in Quebec with a conservative family in the 60’s and 70’s.

I finally got a chance to check it out last week, (my viewing may have been spurred by trying to seeing more films with a certain French-Canadian actor, Marc-Andre Grondin in them…) and I can say this film absolutely deserved all the accolades it received. It’s definitely become one of my all-time favourites.  Just another reminder that Canadian films kick ass and we need to get out there and support them!

Wearing – Essie’s 5th Avenue

This bright red-orange colour is perfect for summer. Now if I could only get myself to the actual 5th Avenue….

Looking Forward To:

1)      Visits with my mom

When you don’t live in the same city as your family, a brief visit that includes shopping and good food can be a wonderful treat.

2)      Jay’s Games

I’m hoping to hit up my first baseball game of the season this weekend. I may not be a sports fan but I am a fan of sunshine, spending time with friends and outdoor drinking.

3)      Paper Lions

I came across Paper Lions a couple months ago and have been charmed ever since. With an upcoming EP release, the PEI-based band is playing a few Toronto shows this weekend and it’s my goal to catch them live!

I hope you take some time to take stock of the good things in your life, even when things seem hectic and crazy. What are looking forward to this summer?

L.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

