I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas

If it wasn’t for the decorations and the incessant amount I listen to Christmas music (and my dwindling bank account from buying Christmas presents), I’d hardly realize it’s a few weeks till Christmas. With the temperatures hovering around 12 degrees and rain falling instead of snow, Toronto is hardly looking like a winter wonderland. While I obviously love warm weather, I’d much rather have fluffy, festive snow rather than dreary rain. Hopefully we’ll be sprinkled with the white stuff soon – maybe even today! Even though the weather may be singing a different tune, it’s most definitely the holiday season! Besides watching my favourite Christmas movies and specials, I love partaking in the wonderful Christmas-y things Toronto has to offer!

This past weekend I checked out the One of a Kind Show at the Direct Energy Centre. It’s a great place to pick up more unique and crafty gifts, though I somehow only managed to pick up food for myself (word to the wise – Maple Balsamic Fig Jelly – TO DIE FOR). If you missed out on OOAK, more handmade goodness can be found at the upcoming City of Craft, which will be held December 8th& 9th.

Friday was the kick-off for this year’s Toronto Christmas Market (which is my fave thing EVER). The festivities run until December 16th, and I can’t wait to check it out!

If you’re on the lookout for all of the must-see Christmas specials, check out these lists by Entertainment Weekly and the CBC.
What are my top Christmas movies? Love Actually, Elf and The Muppet Christmas Carol. I consider them the holy trinity of holiday movies, and I must watch all three for it to be considered the Christmas season! Oh course it’s impossible to miss all or parts of It’s A Wonderful Life.

love actually

On the holiday special side (yes, I differentiate between specials and movies): A Charlie Brown Christmas, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, A Garfield Christmas (so underrated, yet SO good) are my must-sees,  but I usually get a Grinch viewing in as well (cartoon version only).

RUDOLPH THE RED-NOSED REINDEER

What are your Christmas traditions when it comes to events, movies and music?

I’ll leave you with the current King of Christmas, Canada’s very own Michael Buble.

[ps. totes not taking credit for the images!]

5 thoughts on “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas

  1. lily

    There was a tinyyyy bit of snow on my roof today! I’m just glad the city isn’t covered in ice yet. So excited for this Christmas, the malls are all decorated and I just started playing my “Charlie Brown Christmas” cd on a loop today. Have you seen the Christmas tree in the eaton centre yet, by the way?! It’s so awful. I miss the swarovski one! it doesn’t feel like christmas there now, unless you go into my store.

  2. Sara

    I have to say… I get garfield and chalie brown as being specials… but I think rudolph constitutes a movie, since it’s a stand alone and not a christmassy version of a show. Anyways I’ve yet to watch elf or love actually yet, but have been in the mood to watch rocky, which I feel is a Christmas movie for some nostalgic reason.

Leave a Reply

