Sunday Stuff: Safe Haven, Sundance and more

josh duhamel safe haven screening

This past Monday was the advance screening of Safe Haven, which included appearances by the film’s stars, Josh Duhamel and Julianne Hough. I hope all the winners of my giveaway had fun!  I have to superficially say that catching a glimpse of Josh Duhamel in person was worth the wait in line.

As for the flick, I definitely enjoyed it for what it was. Josh and Julianne had great chemistry (she’s grown a lot as an actress from being the girl that’s hired to dance – she said during the Q&A that it was the first time she felt she was hired to be an actress and she has for sure earned that title) and the film is helped by its strong supporting cast of Colbie Smoulders and David Lyons. I had a great time attending – thanks again Alliance/eOne Entertainment!

Speaking of flicks, the Sundance Film Festival is wrapping up, and I’ve been keen to see what indies are emerging as much-sees. One of my personal most-anticipated movies of the year is Richard Linklater’s Before Midnight, the sequel to Before Sunrise and Before Sunset, each which take place nine years after the previous installment, with Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy reprising their roles as Jesse and Celeste. The Before movies are some of my all-time favourites and I am so excited to see this film. I started to read articles coming out of Sundance about it, but I’ve decided I don’t want to know too much! If you live under a rock and have never seen this screen gems, I highly recommend you get caught up!

I also read about the movie Fairhaven, starring Chris Messina, Tom O’Brien, Rich Sommer and Sarah Paulson. Chris Messina and Sarah Paulson are both great on shows I’m currently into (The Mindy Project and American Horror Story: Asylum, respectively), so I was immediately intrigued. Turns out the movie is currently available for VOD, so go check it out on iTunes – great performances by the cast.

Chris Messina and Rich Sommer (alongside The Office’s Jenna Fisher) starred in another little movie together, last year’s The Giant Mechanical Man. It may have a kooky name, but it’s a sweet story about a street performer and zoo worker who are both struggling to figure things out. I really loved this film – I definitely recommend seeking this one out.

If you hadn’t noticed, the Oscar’s are inching closer – educate yourself for making bets in Oscar pools by checking out the Screen Actors Guild Awards tonight (it airs at 8p.m. on Global in Canada).

Hope you all had a relaxing weekend and are ready for the last week of January – where did the time go?!

One thought on “Sunday Stuff: Safe Haven, Sundance and more

  1. Sara

    I wish calgary was film festivalling… I need to get on it and see more of the oscar noms….really all I’ve seen so far is silver linings playbook. which is of course amazing. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

