Those Summer Nights

tiff in the park

If you’re looking for a fun, inexpensive night out in the city, may I suggest this mid-week excursion: a trip to the Magnum Pleasure Store to create your own delicious concoction for $6.00 (which I’ve already waxed poetic about),  then hitting up TIFF in the Park, a free movie series running every Wednesday at David Pecaut Square. This summer TIFF’s theme is “A Summer of Romance” and it’s playing classic and contemporary rom-coms – so basically this is the best thing ever.

I had an amazing time doing these very things with friends a few weeks ago (we caught my fave, Sleepless in Seattle) and I would definitely recommend pairing the two together on warm summer night! (PS – arrive early for good seats!)

magnum toronto

 If it’s a rainy eve and you’re looking for a flick indoors, I fell absolutely in love with (and related a bit too much) to the charming indie flick Frances Ha, which stars Greta Gerwig, who also wrote the film alongside director Noah Baumbach.

Speaking of flicks and TIFF, I cannot wait to check out this year’s festival. It’s one of my favourite things to do in the city and I missed out on attending any films last year, so I will be studious with planning my film-watching schedule this year!

It’s been a very busy summer, but writing here (and anywhere) is going to be priority again. I turn the big 2-5 tomorrow and with change on the forefront – making for an uncertain year ahead, with career being a major focus. I’m trying not to focus on my fading youth (kidding – sort of) and instead treating myself to the new (and possibly last) The Civil Wars album which officially drops tomorrow. The other main item on my birthday wish list (besides dolla bills, a thriving career, eternal happiness, etc) is season one of The Mindy Project, which will be available August 13th. Seriously, get caught up on this show before it returns September 17th!

So as the second last long weekend of summer 2013 comes to a close, I leave you with some beautiful tunes from The Civil Wars:

Leave a Reply

