Being Christmas-y in Toronto

Elf: One of the all-time greatest movies. Seriously.
Elf: One of the all-time greatest movies. Seriously.

If you’ve spent remotely anytime around me or my social media accounts anytime after August then you’ll know that I LOVE Christmas. The obsession isΒ  a bit out of hand (Christmas music creeps into Halloween), but how can you not love the music, tv specials/movies, food and fun times that Christmas brings? Also, as someone who hates cold weather and winter sports, Christmas is my only saving grace getting me through our country’s blustery winter months.

I’ve recently checked out two of my favourite annual things to do in the city at this time of year: The Toronto Christmas Market (which runs till Dec. 15th!) and the One of a Kind Show (today was it’s last day – hope you didn’t miss out!). I went to both last weekend, making it one magical Christmas-y weekend!

Even though I’ve had some seasonal social fun already, have decked the halls, and checked several Christmas movies of my annual viewing list (yes, I keep a tally in my head), I really can’t believe that Christmas is about two-and-a-half weeks away. To me, the anticipation is the best part and I get the winter blues immediately after the holidays are over. I’m also low on the inspiration side when it comes to gift-giving this year. I’ve got to get my butt into gear and get my cards mailed and gifts bought!

Now matter how festive it gets here in TO, it’s never truly Christmas until I am home for the holidays, decorating my parent’s tree and seeing hometown family and friends. This year will actually be my first New Year’s Eve in Toronto, so I am quite excited to ring in 2014 in the big city.

What are your favourite holiday happenings around Toronto?

Leave a Reply

