Summer Songs: What I’m Listening to Now

Not only is summer a terrific time for concerts, it’s also a prime time for album releases – is there anything more powerful than the “song of the summer”?

I’ve complied some of the artists and albums I’ve had on repeat this summer, behind the cut!

misfits kelly dancing

Kevin Drew – Darlings

After attending Field Trip in June (a musical love-in I would definitely recommend to all), I checked out Kevin Drew’s latest solo album, Darlings. No regrets there. Chill melodies mixed with the Broken Social Scene frontman’s stellar vocals, makes this album a can’t-miss offering from Canadian indie royalty.

 

Lana Dey Rey – Ultraviolence

On my first listen I was a bit disappointed in Lana’s sophomore effort, finding that most of the songs sounded similar and that it was more subdued and slower than her previous releases. This album is a slow burn – the more I listen, the more I like. While it doesn’t quite inspire the same love as Born to Die, with tunes like Brooklyn Baby, Cruel World and Florida Kilos, it’s definitely on my playlist for chill-yet-moody summer listening.

 

Ed Sheeran – X

Everyone’s favourite ginger shows he’s no one-album wonder with his sophomore album X (pronounced ‘Multiply’). Ed’s expanded his sound on his first single Sing and on tracks like Don’t, showing the influence of Pharrell (who he worked with on this album). Ed’s capable of a multitude of genres with that insane voice of his, as well as with his musicianship and song-writing skills. While a range of influences are heard on this album, it doesn’t mean that he hasn’t given us a share of guitar-driven love songs. While his rapping served him well on his first album on the track You Need Me, I Don’t Need You, I felt it sometimes falls flat on his second album (such as with The Man). However, overall I am loving the album, especially Thinking Out Loud, I’m A Mess and Runaway. Can’t wait to see him play in September!

 

Teenage Kicks – Spoils of Youth

I got into Teenage Kicks when I saw them perform at NXNE a few years ago. I hadn’t been following them recently, but with realizing they had a new album out I had to check it out – and am I ever glad I did. This Toronto rock band has put out a stellar effort. If you’re unfamiliar with them, change that. Now.

 

When it comes to songs you immediately put on repeat, FKA Twig’s Two Weeks is that – a sultry electro-R&B-esque slow jam you need to hear.

Other new and notable tunes: I’ve been listening to Sam Smith and need to get his full album on my iPod. Also on my list to check out – the latest album from Sia (I love her first single Chandelier).  I am loving the new tunes from Arkells and eagerly anticipating their new album.

What songs have been keeping you company this summer?

 

Leave a Reply

