Here’s to 2015

New Year New Look New Paige

Wrapping up the Christmas holidays is always a downer. While we ruminate on the “new page” of the new year, it’s hard not to get bummed out by the end of festive cheer and the time off we’ve (hopefully) had, and the return to the daily grind. All this with the added bonus of dreary winter weather. While January is supposed to be a time of change and resolutions, I find it near impossible to maintain any sort of motivation while having the winter blues.

Sometimes change is inevitable and beyond our control, and that can be a catalyst for propelling you somewhere else (hopefully forward). While I’m not naive enough to think simply because the calendar says 2015 that I’ll be suddenly a ball of energy to work on all the elements I felt fell to the wayside at the end of the year, or suddenly be motivated to venture into the adventures I’ve had at the back of my mind, I do think that a return to a regular schedule will make it easier to say no to my own excuses. (Although the return of mid-season shows makes it pretty hard to be productive in the evenings, but that’s another post.)

Although it seems I say it every January, I want this blog to be a focus in 2015. Not carving out time to write about the happenings of living in the city as they happen has gotten me down this year. I enjoyed so many things this year – a ton of concerts, events, TIFF, Just for Laughs, to name a few– and also had a lot of thoughts about I’ve been reading, watching and listening to, but I never seemed to tap it out on my laptop in a timely manner. I’ve documented these things on Instagram and Twitter, but frankly my lack of blogging had me bummed, and that’s no one’s fault but my own. Prioritizing this blog and putting a focus on freelance writing and long-term career goals is a huge focus for 2015.

Getting yourself pretty things to help with organization and planning is a fun way to help set the motivation in motion. I finally picked up one of Avril Loreti’s tea towel calendars for 2015. This pretty thing is up on my wall for the year before it sees any dishes. For keeping on track of my day-to-day tasks (and my above mentioned 2015 goals), I’ve got these adorable Liberty print stationary items and an agenda from Indigo.

Since my blogging had some serious lapses this year, I’ve included some pictures from the goings-on about town from 2015.

 

Here’s to more adventures in 2015!

Leave a Reply

