City of Wonder: Roncesvalles

This September will mark my 5th year in the Big Smoke. I hate to evoke cliches, but time sure flies. It’s a weird realization that I’ve been in Toronto longer than I was away at university, also longer than my high school experience.

Instead of lamenting my fading youth (Kidding. Sort of.), I thought I’d start focusing on some of my favourite neighbourhoods around the 416. There’s charm and culture (and especially good food) to be found all over the city. Having lived and worked in different hoods, as well as having friends around town, has given me a great appreciation for seeking out spots all Toronto. There’s a lot more to this great city than the downtown core – go east, west & up my friend!

The current strip of the city that has my heart is Roncesvalles. This west end street is a friendly neighbourhood perfect for eating, shopping & strolling. A brunch haven for sure! Here are a few of my favourite spots (note: there are many more places still on my list to try!):

La Cubana

La Cubana

I had never had Cuban food before going to La Cubana, and boy was I missing out! Always delicious, La Cubana is also always busy. Their brunch is (especially on the patio) is so delicious. I also love dinner here. They serve the best mojitos I have ever had. Keep in mind they are 2oz each when you’re pounding them back though!

 

The Ace

The Ace Roncy

One of the best meals I’ve had in this city was at The Ace. With ever-changing specials and seasonal menus, The Ace serves up creative and sensational dishes & drinks. I’ve yet to stop by for brunch, but you know it’s on my list.


Reunion Island Coffee

Reunion Island Coffee

A new addition to the Roncy strip, this adorable coffee shop has become a quick favourite of mine. In addition to the coffee shop standards, try their hibiscus iced tea or their cold brew & tonic for the hotter months!


Lit Espresso Bar

Lit Espresso Bar

There are so many cute places to get a cup of joe on the Roncy strip. Lit’s another great spot to get your caffeine fix and people watch out the window – or if you’re a pet-deprived person like myself, to keep an eye out for all the insanely cute dogs that call Roncy home!

 

Scout

foe-and-dear
Image via foeanddear.com

I swear Scout will be the death of me (and my wallet). I can’t walk into this adorable shop without purchasing something. From the cutest and cleverest cards, to a brunch map of the city, to gorgeous accessories, there’s always something new to covet at Scout. I’ve recently picked up the above ring, which is made by Foe & Dear.

 

Likely General

Likely General

In addition to being one cool store, Likely General also is a supporter of local craftsmanship and artistic endeavors. I have no shame in saying I love a good psychic and Likely General even hosts readings on Sunday’s by local jeweler/artist Mary Grisey.

 

This is just a taste of what awaits you on Roncy. I have many more spots on my list to check out. Show your ‘hood love! What are your local go-to spots?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

